1184 Bishop St, Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 585-3300 Fax: (808) 521-8428
Roman Catholics

Roman Catholic Church in the state of hawaii

Diocese of Honolulu

Witness to Jesus

News & Events

News & Events

Help me find...

News Articles

Over 700 Educators attend ACCE at Sacred Hearts Academy

February 12, 2018

Catholic Schools Week always lands on the last week of January.  Here in Hawaii it ends with our Annual Conference for Catholic School Educators (ACCE).  On Friday, February 2, 2018, over 700 teachers and administrators met for the Hawaii Catholic Schools’ 2018 ACCE at Sacred Hearts Academy. The morning opened up with mass which included St. John the Baptist Catholic School’s Swing Choir led by Mr. Jarrod Laumoli.  After mass attendees heard from National Speaker Annette Jones before breaking up into individual workshops.  Associate Superintendent Betsey Gunderson spearheaded the Catholic Conference with more than 20 workshops focused on engaging students using quality curriculum standards. Partnering up with Sacred Hearts Academy, the National Catholic Educational Association, RCL-Benziger, and Chaminade University, Betsey and team has developed the 2018 ACCE into a quality conference including national speakers. 

Included in the morning’s mass, a group of teachers and administrators were recognized for celebrating milestone years of service with Hawaii Catholic Schools. To view their pictures and short write-up visit:  http://catholicschoolshawaii.org/service-spotlight-milestone-20-30-years-in-hawaii-catholic-schools-2/

This year’s honorees were:

 30 Years of Service:

  • Kathleen Botelho, St. Louis School
  • Janis Davis, St. Joseph Parish School
  • Rie Mizumura, Maryknoll School
  • Grace Tokuda, St. Joseph Parish School


20 Years of Service:

  • Annie Agbayani, Our Lady of Good Counsel School
  • Cat Awong, St. John's Catholic Preschool
  • Erlinda Ceria, Our Lady of Good Counsel School
  • Leo Delgado, Maryknoll School
  • Sandra Franks, St. Michael School
  • Ku'ulei Halemano, St. Ann School
  • Yvonne Morris, Maryknoll School
  • Dominic Olaso, Maryknoll School
  • Michael Pa'ekukui, St. Louis School
  • Michele Zarko, St. Patrick School


The following 20 Years of Service awardees from the neighbor islands will be honored in May and July:

  • Kelly Chung, St. Joseph School Hilo
  • Tanya Pataray, St. Joseph School Hilo
  • Renette Koa, St. Joseph Preschool